Few months ago, when I added a Twitter Background creator to Tile Me! I got this idea to create an app that would quickly generate in-device shots from your images. At that time, I thought it could be used by ordinary Windows Phone users to share their home screens. But, after talking to Robert Shurbet (the developer of #Hashtastic who I collaborated with to add the Avatar Gallery feature) I realized this kind of app would be great for developers to promote their apps on social networks too.

About two weeks ago I started implementing the idea and had a closed beta with few other developers who really contributed with the design choices. I’d like to thank Sébastien Lachance, Robert Shurbet, Hermit Dave and Mark Tepper. Special shout out to my brother Alpay for all the phone renders he managed to find and edit on the interwebs, the app wouldn’t exist without him.

Device Shot went live two days ago and was well received by many Windows Phone users. WPCentral published an article too! Along with App Promo by Sébastien Lachance, I believe they are currently the two best apps for developers to promote their own apps. On the left you can see an image generated with Device Shot for Rob Irving’s Car Dash.

I already submitted an update which is under certification to add support for Landscape images/screenshots too.

You can get Device Shot by scanning the QR code below. The trial version let’s you save up to 3 images. To remove that limitation you can purchase it for $0.99.

 

  

